The Task At Hand

Posted: June 18, 2012 in Current Events, Family

My sisters have bestowed upon me the honor of writing a little something for the local paper to honor the 12th anniversary of our mother’s passing.  Naturally, I’m torn as to what to write: a poem?  a eulogy?  a memory?

I have not decided on anything yet and the dead line is coming – July 11.    I have begun a poem in Spanish but have not been able to complete it; my Spanish is seriously lacking in eloquence and so that makes it a laborious process.  I want to share what I have so far which I think will stay almost as is.

~~

hay se quedo el harina

hecho polvo en el fondo de un altar

la sal y pimienta no se hablan

el agua y azucar se dieron cuenta que ya no estas

las tortillas se han hecho obstinidos

rectangulos y torsidos

porque el palote esta en huelga

y “Basta!” dice la comida

manitas de miel, manitas de miel

como extranamos su manitas de miel

~~

It’s a work in progress.  But I like where it is headed.  The tentative title is “Manitas de Miel”

I shall keep you posted!

Comments
  1. Petra says:

    Awesome Poem!!! I love it!!! Looking forward. To see the completion!,

  2. Thanks Petra! I have settled on writing 3 or 4 possibilities and having us sit and pick which one we all like best!

Leave a Reply

