A Mere Two: Art and Life

Posted: March 29, 2012 in Current Events, Life
Tags: ,

In an attempt to get used to incorporating hyperlinks into my blog posts, I wanted to share some undercurrents that are, well, currently active in my life.

Art

The past week I’ve been really moved by two artists, one past and one present.  A website dedicated to the work of Bruno Schulz has introduced me to his wonderfully intimate style of sketching and writing.  I would describe my favorite ones as romantic surrealism.  It refers to the emphatic way Schulz’s work highlights what Nella Cassouto calls, “active femaleness.”  There is a stout feminism that circumscribes his work, a world where women have all the power and the male lies prostrate at her feet.

Being a momma’s boy myself that grew up in the company of sisters, I identify with the blatant submission toward women.  And as a male that leans toward romanticism, the sheer power women have over us resonates.  Like his sketches, Schulz’s writing is replete with intimacy and candor, almost as if he is letting you in on a secret:

I liked to stand between my father’s legs, clasping them from each side like columns.  Sometimes he wrote letters. I sat on his desk and watched, entranced, the squiggles of his signature, crabbed and a whirl like the trills of a coloratura singer. Smiles were budding in the wallpaper, eyes hatched, somersaults turned. To amuse me, my father would blow soap bubbles through a long straw; they burst in the iridescent space or hit the walls, their colors still hanging in the air.  Then my mother materialized, and that early bright idyll came to an end. Seduced by my mother’s caresses, I forgot my father.

–The Book

The other one is the Brooklyn based artist Vik Muniz, whose recent documentary Waste Land (the trailer can be seen here) struck many chords in me.  His depiction of the lives of catadores at  Jardim Gramacho, Rio de Janeiro’s largest landfill, provoked many questions in me about my own place in life.  And, what I’m doing with what I have.  It would be impossible to capture these characters here in words.  Suffice it to say that when even on the brink of subsistence, one can have dignity and hope.  This, it seems to me, is what Muniz’s art accomplishes so beautifully, the dignity and hope of “the least of these.”

The truth I gather in these two artists is how they manage to capture a vast swath of humanity in one fell swoop, as they say. Thereby leaving the viewer with an abiding sense of  inclusion.

Comments
  1. Agreed, check out it twice and I agree with you on all points. Also as for your sound problem, considering what you just said, I have absolutely no horror creation experience at all, you also had to fit this into a large span of time, as in a long time you can’t scare someone, because tension must build up first. however letting tension build up, also gives bodies a chance to size up the situation but letting tension build up

  2. garmin 1490t says:

    Hi buddy, your blog’s type is simple and clean and i like it. Your blog posts are superb. Please hold them coming. Greets!!!

  3. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do some research about this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I am very glad to see such fantastic info being shared freely out there.

  4. Howdy just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your post seem to be running off the screen in Chrome. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with internet browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know. The design and style look great though! Hope you get the issue solved soon. Kudos

  5. Good Page says:

    Howdy are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own. Do you need any html coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    • Thanks for stopping by. I use the templates and services provided by WordPress, so fortunately I don’t need html coding. Good luck on your blogging journey!

  6. WWW says:

    Howdy! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this write-up to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

  7. Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any suggestions for newbie blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  8. Appreciating the time and effort you put into your website and in depth information you present. It’s nice to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed information. Wonderful read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I am including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  9. Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thank you Nonetheless I’m experiencing problem with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there any person obtaining identical rss dilemma? Any person who knows kindly respond. Thanks

Leave a Reply

