Little Truths

Posted: January 2, 2012 in Poetry

shall we say the memory of you is as bitter as the liquor that falls upon my lips tonight

and confess little truths

often wish you were a slut

loose limbs and looser morals

woman of wide open spaces

would hang those victories upon the fridge

little sweet mementos of me with you

and of you and you and still more you

rather this: my Dear, you are the very sinews of an ancient land

where myths are born like rivers from an endless sea

calm and assured as time

Calm and Assured as the absence of you.

impenetrable as unknowing

and my victories elope like mist in a mighty wind

shall I say that the memory of you is as bitter as the liquor that falls upon my lips tonight

and confess the truth

Comments
  1. Sorry, but I dispute with this post. I do enjoy your particular web page however and will keep on coming once again for update versions.

    • Jewell T.,

      First I’d like to thank you for taking the time to read this blog. I very much appreciate it.

      I wonder what aspect of the poem you dispute. A line? a word or image? the whole thing?

      Thanks again! And Please do come back and read – it makes my day!

Leave a Reply

